apriori 2016
 

Mountain sun and primary rock

Bottled in March 2017

It contains centuries-old European tradition combined with the New World’s eagerness to experiment and my personal flair for grapes from the Valais. Who said white wines were no fun?

apriori is made from my favourite grapes – both are ancient varieties that have been grown in the Valais since the 14th century: Humagne Blanche and Petite Arvine from St. Léonard in the Rhone valley. I process each variety separately, then taste and evaluate them before blending. Finally, the wine is matured in stainless steel tanks. 


apriori is a beautifully balanced wine with a crisp minerality enveloped in mellowness. To make sure the wine preserves its unique character year after year, I select the grape harvest that feels right to me. In this way, I can guarantee AOC quality, continuity and an unmistakeable style. Viva!

 

 
 

HOW THE WINE IS MADE

50 % Humagne blanche and 50% Petite arvine / AOC Salgesch / wines are made separately, then blended after tasting / no maceration / static settling of the must / fermented at 14-16°C / no malolactic fermentation / matured in stainless steel tanks

apriori-2015
 

Bergsonne und Urgestein

Abgefüllt im März 2017

In diesem Weisswein steckt jahrhundertealte europäische Tradition kombiniert mit der Experimentierfreude der neuen Welt und meinem persönlichen Flair für Walliser Trauben. So macht mir Weisswein Spass!

apriori ist aus meinen Lieblingstrauben gemacht – beides uralte Sorten, die schon im 14. Jahrhundert im Wallis angebaut wurden: Humagne blanche (seit 1313 in Sion urkundlich als Vinum humanum erwähnt) und Petite Arvine aus St. Léonard im Rhonetal. Für apriori keltere ich beide Sorten separat und assembliere sie nach Verkostung und Urteil. Ausgebaut wird der Wein schliesslich im Edelstahltank.

apriori ist ein wunderbar einladender Wein. Im Antrunk crèmig weich, endet er auf einer mineralischen, fast salzigen Note, die Lust macht auf mehr. Damit der Wein diesen besonderen Charakter Jahr für Jahr behält, wähle ich jeweils die Traubenlose aus Salgesch VS aus, die mir dafür richtig scheinen. Das bedeutet AOC-Qualität mit Kontinuität und einer klaren Handschrift.

 
 
 

ANGABEN ZUR WEINBEREITUNG

priora aus 50% Humagne blanche und 50% Petite Arvine / AOC Salgesch / separat gekeltert und nach Verkostung zusammengestellt / Kelterung ohne Maischestandzeit / statisch geklärter Most / bei 14-16°C vergoren / kein BSA (Milchsäureabbau) / im Edelstahltank ausgebaut